Agro-BIG Programme Areas


The Amhara Region has a total estimated population of over 19 million accounting to over 25% of Ethiopia's total population. The Region is divided into ten administrative Zones, which are further divided into 128 rural Woredas and 38 urban administrations, as well as to 2,896 rural and 341 urban Kebeles. The two of Ethiopia's largest provincial towns - the Regional capital Bahir Dar and Gondar are located near Lake Tana. The population is unevenly distributed among Zones and Woredas.

The Region is dominated by highland areas in the north-west side and of lowland and dry, food-insecure areas in the East. The best area for agriculture is found in the Nile Basin that feeds the Nile River and Lake Tana.

An important factor concerning Amhara Region is land certification. As much as 95% of all land has been registered and certified, which contributes to land-tenure security.

Amhara region map

Figure: Map of Amhara National Regional State showing Zones and Weredas

Tana-Beles Growth Corridor

The creation of Growth Corridors has been a key element of the national development strategy to realize the achievement of goals set in the PASDEP and the subsequent GTP. Growth Corridors are geographical corridors identified on the basis of their different agro-ecology, environmental conditions and resource base for growth and development. The Tana and Beles river sub-­basins have been designated as a Growth Corridor with the following vision: "the establishment of a leading food processing zone based upon sustainable commercialised agriculture and an enabling business environment resulting in a destination of choice for domestic and foreign investors"

Tana-beles growth corridor

Figure: The Tana-Beles Growth Corridor

As Growth Corridors are not limited by administrative borders, the Tana-Beles Growth Corridor (TBGC) is situated in two neighbouring Regions, Amhara and Benishangul-Gumuz, with a total population of approximately 4.4 million, of which 80% is in Amhara.

The Programme starts in two Woredas: Fogera and Mecha. Both these Woredas have a considerable agricultural development potential as there are large irrigation schemes. Thereafter the Programme will gradually be expanded to include additional five Woredas: LiboKemkem; GonderZuria; Dembiya and North and South Achefer.

programme area map

Figure: Map of Programme Areas

Mecha Woreda

Mecha Woreda is located in West Gojam zone of the Amhara region, 39 km from Bahir Dar. Most of the Woreda area, 80%, is lowland and some 20% midland. The wereda receives an avarage annual rainfall of 1,500 millilitres. The area covered by the woreda is 1,491.20 km2.

In Mecha 45% of the land is cultivated, while 9% is used for grazing. As much as 19% of the land is non-arable.

Fogera Woreda

Fogera Woreda is located in the south Gondra zone of the Amhara region, some 55 km north of the capital Bahir Dar. The topography is mainly characterized by flat terrain (75%) and around 12% is hilly. The Woreda is at an attitude of 1,820 meters above sea level and receives an avarage annual rainfall of 1,300 millilitres. The area covered by the woreda is 1,030 km2.

In Fogera 48% of the land is cultivated, with as much as 22% of the land used for grazing. Fogera has a very large area of wetlands, 20%, which is a significant characteristics of the wereda. Only 3% of the land is non-arable.